Till innehåll

Cost of sale

Cost of sale (COS) measures ad spend as a percentage of the revenue it generates, calculated as ad spend divided by revenue. Cost of sales, shouldn’t be confused with Content Optimization System (also the acronym COS).

Cost of sales used to be more popular than ROAS but is now rarely seen and primarily used in retail companies.

The calculation, however, is the direct opposite of ROAS. You’ll have to divide the cost with the campaign’s revenue to get the COS.

Example: Your local store for outdoor wear has been running a campaign with an ad spend of 100$. That campaign generated revenue of 410$.

100 / 410 = 0,24

The COS of that campaign is 24%.

 

Related content

Answer Engine Optimization (AEO) is the practice of structuring content so it directly answers questions, making it easy for AI assistants to surface as a direct answer.
GEO (Generative Engine Optimization) is the practice of optimizing content so AI tools like ChatGPT and Google AI Overviews understand, trust, and cite it in their answers.
AI Max for Search is Google’s AI feature that expands keyword matching and auto-generates headlines and landing pages within Search campaigns.
    
       

Stay updated

Join our newsletter