Cost of sale

Cost of sales, or COS, shouldn’t be confused with Content Optimization System (also the acronym COS).

Cost of sales used to be more popular than ROAS but is now rarely seen and primarily used in retail companies.

The calculation, however, is the direct opposite of ROAS. You’ll have to divide the cost with the campaign’s revenue to get the COS.

Example: Your local store for outdoor wear has been running a campaign with an ad spend of 100$. That campaign generated revenue of 410$.

100 / 410 = 0,24

The COS of that campaign is 24%.


Related content


The e-commerce reports allow you to analyze purchase activity on your site or app that tells you product and transaction information, average order value, and other data.

Search term

A search term, otherwise known as a search query, is the word or phrase someone enters into a search engine.

Search engine optimization

SEO means search engine optimization, which is the art of ranking high on search engines in the unpaid section, also known as the organic listings.

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